Saturday, August 1, 2015
Highlights 1949

Greeley, CO
September 3-11

Order of Finish (NSC)

Hanford (CA) Kings
Somerton (AZ) Roundup Bar
Taft (CA) Shamrocks
Tulsa (OK) Grever Truck Lines
Gainesville (FL) Streit's Bicycle Shop
Salt Lake City (UT) Rudy & Headland
Lubbock (TX) Bluebonnet Laundry
El Paso (TX) Deal Motors
Greeley (CO) Wells Motors
Madill (OK) Oilers
Denver (CO) Fred Ward All-Stars
Stamford (TX) All-Stars
Toronto (ON) Dalton Furs
Churubusco (IN) Leitch Hardware
Crane (TX) Gulf Oilers
Windsor (CO) American Legion
Cheyenne (WY) Western Floors
All American Team Pos. B/Avg
Jack Reid-Somerton if .310
Jerry Cahoon-Somerton if .222
Fred Viera-Hanford if .214
Don Allen-Lubbock if .455
Dom Farruzzi-Hanford of .462
Dave Lott-Somerton of .519
Lou Ferrero-Hanford of .467
Bud Manchester-Gainesville ut .200 (5 rbi's)
Jim Livingston-Tulsa ut .333
Charles Morris-Taft c .190
Whitey Becknell-Hanford c .000

Pitchers W-L I/P H E/R S/0 B/B

Kenny Law-Somerton 5-2 57 35 5 83 35
Bill Buckley-Hanford 2-0 14 6 0 18 0
Wes Priest-Taft 2-1 31 10 1 46 3

Other Awards
Most Valuable Player-Paul Thomas(P), Gainesville
Leading Pitcher- Kenny Law, Somerton
Leading Hitter- Dave Lott (.519) Anderson Sporting Goods
Best Dressed Team- Shamrocks, Taft (CA)
Team Sportsmanship-Rudy & Headland, SLC(UT)

ISC Executive Committee
President: unknown
Exec.Secretary: Larry Walker
Regional VP's: unknown

A 20-inning game was played between Toronto's Dalton Furs & El Paso's Deal Motors. Cam Ecclestone (Toronto) set the strikeout mark (30) for a game but lost to Paul Lopez 1-0. Both records (longest game & strikeouts) would stand for 18 years until broken by Vern Mauch of Colorado in 1967.
In an earlier game between Taft (3rd) and runner-up Somerton, the game went 16
innings and ended with a steal of home by Somerton 3rd baseman Herman Frauenfelder for a 1-0 final.
In a game between Gainesville and Taft, Les Haney (Taft) struck out 15 consecutive batters from the 2nd through 6th innings.
Jess Cornwell of Greeley no-hit the Churubusco team from Indiana.
The tournament director for this NSC event was Carrol Forbes who would break with the NSC in December, 1950 and form another organization, the ISL.

Copyright © 2002-2015 ISC
For more information please read our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use
Designed and Hosted by Net Reliant
Powered by ReliantCMS