Monday, July 27, 2015
Highlights - 1955

New Bedford, IL
Aug. 28-Sept. 5

Order of Finish (ISL)

Long Beach (CA) Nitehawks
Dinuba (CA) Condors
New Bedford (IL) Elites
Gary (IN) Local 1014 Chief's Phoenix (AZ) A-1 Construction
Arlington (TX) Reynolds
New Castle (PA) Future A.C.
Elgin (IL) Potter's Drive-in
Platteville (CO) Public Service Co.
Dayton (OH) National Cash Register
Cochituate (MA) Motors
Geneseo (IL) Seiben's Hybrids
Salt Lake City (UT) Mid-America Securities
Springfield (MO) ???????????
Kenosha (WI) Silver Tavern
Ft. Madison (IA) VFW

All American Team Pos. B/Avg
Larry Silvas-Long Beach 1b
Ray Unruh-Dinuba 2b
J.Mato-Dinuba 3b
Cleo Goyette ss
Charles Fazzone-New Castle of
Lou Novikoff-Long Beach of
Les Arnold-New Bedford of
Jim Brown-Arlington ut
Bob Neely-Phoenix ut
Stan White-Long Beach c
Jack Miers-New Bedford c
Don Helmuth-Dinuba c

Pitchers W-L I/P H E/R S/0 B/B

LeRoy Zimmerman-Long Beach p
Bryan Voigt-Dinuba p
Jim Boender-New Bedford p
Jack Randall-Long Beach p
Note: At this time we do not have the stats for the above players.

Other Awards
MVP to his team- Kenny Law, Phoenix
Leading Pitcher- LeRoy Zimmerman, Long Beach
Leading Hitter- Charles Fazzone, New Castle (.583)
Best Dressed Team- National Cash Register, Dayton
Most Promising Young Player- Wally Gifford, Elgin
Team Sportsmanship(tie)-New Castle(PA)/Cochituate(MA)
Tournament Umpire Officials
UIC: W.W. Townsend, Denver (CO)
Other Umpires: Ed Morley, Jim DeSanto, Sonny Gamer, Jim Ryan

ISL Executive Committee
President: Rex Wilson, El Paso (TX)
Exec.Secretary: Carrol Forbes, Greeley (CO)
Treasurer: John R.P. Wheeler, Greeley (CO)
Regional VP's: Ralph Bumpas, Lubbock (TX)
M.C. Brunner, Calgary (AB)
Howard Phillips, Natick (MA)
Dean Stonier, Kewanee (IL)

Nitehawks ace pitcher, LeRoy Zimmerman struck out 30 batters in a 14-inning win (1-0) over the Silver Tavern team of Kenosha (WI). Nitehawks Jack Randall threw a no-hitter as the Nitehawks went through the tournament unscored on in 5 games.
In addition to throwing a no-hitter, Jim Boender (New Bedford) went 12 2/3 innings during the tournament without surrendering a hit. Another Nitehawk, legendary, Lou Novikoff, drove in a tournament high 9 runs in his final appearance in the ISL.

Copyright © 2002-2015 ISC
For more information please read our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use
Designed and Hosted by Net Reliant
Powered by ReliantCMS