Sunday, August 2, 2015
Highlights - 1956

New Bedford, IL
Aug. 26-Sept. 3

Order of Finish

Long Beach (CA) Nitehawks
Geneseo (IL) Seiben’s Hybrids
New Bedford (IL) Elites
Dayton (OH) National Cash Register Co
Long Beach (CA) Naval Shipyard.
Oshawa (ON) Tony’s Refreshments
Elgin (IL) Potter’s Drive-in
Dallas (TX) Universal Corp.
Providence (RI) State Body
Wink (TX) Humble Oilers
Springfield (MO) Barnes Store
Platteville (CO) Merchants
Wichita (KS) Carl’s Electric
Gary (IN) Local 1014 Chiefs
Davenport (IA) Phiedeman’s Tap
Prophetstown (IL)

All American Team – Team – Pos – BA
Larry Silvas - Long Beach - 1b
Cleo Goyette - Long Beach - 2b
Ray Deeters - Naval Shipyard - 3b
George Williams - Dayton - ss
Jimmie Jones - Long Beach - ss
Paul Smith - Springfield - ut
Ernie Powell - Dayton - of
Bill Hull - Long Beach - of
Nick Mroczek - Oshawa - of
Bill Boyer - New Bedford - of
Stan White - Long Beach - c
Jack Miers - Geneseo - c

All-World Pitchers 1st Team – Team – W-L IP H ERA SO BB
Jack Randall-Long Beach
Dick Pobanz-Geneseo
LeRoy Zimmerman-Long Beach
Paul Johnson-Dayton

Note: At this time we do not have the stats for the above players.
We hope to have the 1956 info available in future.

Other Awards
MVP to his team- Norman Bagnell, Oshawa(1 no-hit & (2) 1-hit games & .429 b/a)
Leading Pitcher- Jack Randall, Nitehawks
Leading Hitter- Paul Smith, Springfield
Best Dressed Team- New Bedford Elites
Most Promising Young Player- Shote, Wink (TX)
Team Sportsmanship-Carl’s Electric

Tournament Umpire Officials
UIC: W.W. Townsend, Denver (CO)
Other Umpires: Earl Hunsicker, Frank Waganer, Jim Ryan
Hugh Gamber, Leo Szanfranks, Ed Palko

ISC Executive Committee
President: Ralph Bumpass, Lubbock (TX)
Exec.Sec-Treas: Carrol Forbes, Greeley (CO)
Regional VP’s: Dean Stonier, Kewanee (IL)
Howard Phillips, Natick (MA)
Carl Grieco, Altoona (PA)
Henry Steiner, Rockford (OH)
George Horton,Jr., Gary (IN)
William C. Day, Davenport (IA)
Rex M. Wilson, El Paso (TX)
Immediate Past Pres: Rex M. Wilson, El Paso (TX)


MVP to his team, Oshawa’s Norm Bagnell hit .429 for the tournament. In addition he pitched a no-hitter and (2) 1-hit games. Leading Hitter, Paul Smith had 7 rbi’s in his teams 10-1 victory over Iowa. Bill Boyer of the New Bedford Elites broke the consecutive scoreless innings (67 1/3) streak of the Nitehawks by driving in a run.

Copyright © 2002-2015 ISC
For more information please read our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use
Designed and Hosted by Net Reliant
Powered by ReliantCMS