Monday, July 27, 2015
Highlights - 1958

Long Beach, CA Aug. 24-Sept. 1

Order of Finish

Long Beach (CA) Nitehawks
Dinuba (CA) Condors
Bremerton (WA) Lake Furniture
Tijuana (MX) Caliente Race Track
Culver City (CA) Comets
Tulsa (OK) Q's Mobil Service
Rock Island (IL) Hamm's Beer
McClave (CO) Reyhers Milling Co
New Bedford (IL) Elites
Remington (IN) Crystal Dairy
Ogden (UT) Fred M. Nye Co.
Ft. Worth (TX) Acme Fence
Providence (RI) Penn T-V
Davenport (IA) Powers Tavern
Hutto (TX) All Stars
New Westminster (BC) Army & Navy Stores
El Paso (TX) Union Furniture Co.
Las Vegas (NV) Miller High Life
Tucson (AZ) Vasey's

All American Team Pos. B/Avg
Larry Silvas-Long Beach 1b .346
Cleo Goyette-Long Beach 2b .333
Swede Moore-Bremerton ss .258
Ben Murray-Bremerton 3b .333
Clint Herron-Long Beach if .292
Ricardo Mendez-Tijuana of .476
Paul Humiston-Long Beach of .286
Ricky Maris-Tijuana of .353
Jim Aversing-Rock Island of .307
Irving 'Red' Meairs-Long Beach c .417
James Kennemer-Tulsa c .385
Dick Helmuth-Dinuba c .304

Pitchers W-L I/P H E/R S/0 B/B

Jack Randall-Long Beach 3-0 21 2 1 32 7
Bryan Voigt-Dinuba 5-1 34 22 3 38 6
LeRoy Zimmerman-Long Beach 2-1 22 1/3 7 2 28 1
John Ridley-Bremerton 6-2 59 35 10 66 16

Other Awards
MVP to his team-John Ridley, Bremerton
Leading Pitcher- Jack Randall, Long Beach
Leading Hitter- Dick Brubaker, Rock Island (.500)
Best Dressed Team- Union Furniture Co., El Paso Most Promising Young Player- Butch Cardosa, Dinuba
Team Sportsmanship(tie)-Remington,IN/McClave, CO
Tournament Umpires- not listed

ISC Executive Committee
President: Dean Stonier, Kewanee(IL)
Exec.Sec-Treas: Carrol Forbes, Greeley(CO)
Regional VP's: Carl Grieco, Altoona (PA)
Clyde Fortune, Waco (TX)
George Horton, Jr, Gary(IN)
Royce Heath, Arlington(TX)
Joe Rodgers, Long Beach(CA)
Immediate Past Pres: Ralph Bumpas, Lubbock(TX)

This was the inaugural tournament of the new ISC organization after the merger of
the NSC and ISL following the 1957 season. In the 1958 tournament, Ricard Mendez of the 4th place Tijuana team scored 10 runs to lead all batters. Paul Humiston of the Nitehawks drove in 9 runs to lead all hitters.

Copyright © 2002-2015 ISC
For more information please read our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use
Designed and Hosted by Net Reliant
Powered by ReliantCMS