Monday, August 3, 2015
Highlights - 1970

Kerman, CA
Aug. 28-Sept. 6


Order of Finish

Phoenix (AZ) Schaefer-Smith Ins. Co.
Hawthorne (CA) L & L Hustlers
Philadelphia (PA) Sal's Lunch
Dallas (TX) General Electric
El Paso (TX) La Topatia
Englewood (CO) Spencer Sorting Goods
Rock Island (IL) Bob Neal Ford
Houston (TX) Southeastern Saw
Kaukauna (WI) Jack Rose Hill
Long Beach (CA) Nitehawks
Columbia (SC) Shoney Hawks
Lamont (CA) County Fair Market
Hatcherville (OK) Oilers
Fresno (CA) R.K.T.
Granite Falls (NC) Beavers
Reno (NV) Fairway Motors
Waynesburg (PA) Guthrie Truckers
Ogden (UT) Joe's Towing
Tulsa (OK) Doresett Electric
Pueblo (CO) Pepsi-Cola
Dubuque (IA) Henry's Lounge
Huntington (IN) Bob's Finer Foods

All-American Team Pos. B/Avg
Rich Williams-Lamont if .417
Sid Jwanier-Philadelphia if .412
Jim Perry-Dallas if .400
Gordon Salsman-Dallas if .385
Don Leslie-Rock Island if .353
Jackie Tointigh-Apache of .417
Harry Barrett-Houston of .294
Vic Cobos-Phoenix of .290
Jerry Flory-Hawthorne of .281
Terry Birdsall-Hawthorne c .471
Joe Jones-Dallas c .320
Pitchers W-L I/P H E/R S/0 B/B
Don Weldon-Dallas 4-0 28 11 1 35 5 Don Sarno-Hawthorne 3-0 37 17 0 36 15
Jerry Wells-Phoenix 5-1 46 18 1 44 1

Other Awards
MVP to his team- Jerry Wells, Phoenix
Leading Pitcher- Don Sarno, Hawthorne
Leading Hitter- Joe Siegfried, Long Beach Best Dressed Team- Henry's Lounge, Dubuque
Most Promising Young Player- Rich Williams, Lamont
Team Sportsmanship- Oilers, Apache, OK
Most Runs Batted In- Jerry Wells, Phoenix

World Tournament Umpires

DeRoian, Sullivan, Haupt, Soper, Walsh, Sambrano, Coleman
Evans, Amaro. (only last names shown in the ISC 1971 Guide).

ISC Executive Committee
President: Clyde Fortune, Waco (TX)
Exec.Sec-Treas: Carrol Forbes, Greeley (CO)
Regional VP's: Karl Nielson, Phoenix (AZ)
William Snow, Clinton (OK)
Jim McGuirt, Camden (SC)
Immediate Past Pres: Frank Porth, El Paso (TX)


Don Sarno (p) of Hawthorne was 3-0 but also had 4 saves & didn't allow any runs. One of Sarno's victories was a 14-inning shutout (1-0) over Rock Island. Jerry Wells (p) of Phoenix pitched 46 innings giving up only 1 run; won 5 games and lost one on a 1-hitter. Wells led all players with 5 rbi's & hit a double to drive in the only run in an 11-inning (1-0) victory over 1969 champions, Sal's Lunch. Don Weldon (p) of Dallas gave up 1 walk and 1 run in 28 innings while winning four games in leading Dallas to a 4th place finish. Tommy Thomas (p) of Sal's Lunch gave up 1 walk and had 49 k's in 34 innings. Sam Beaver (p) for Dallas recorded the only perfect game in the 1970 tournament. Gary Hutchings (p) of Rock Island had 56 strikeouts in the tournament. Joe Jones the Dallas catcher went 5-for-5 in one game for an ISC all-time record. ISC Hall of Fame inductees were: Joe Rodgers, Manager/Founder of the nine-time World Champion Long Beach Nitehawks. Joe had 999 wins in his 33-year career in 1131 games. He was also a great shortstop for the Huntington Beach Oilers, starting his softball career in 1931. Leroy Zimmerman pitched for the Fresno Hoak Packers and the Long Beach Nitehawks. Leroy was chosen ISC All-American 10 times, pitched 6 no-hit games in world tournaments and was selected top pitcher in 5 world tournaments. Zimmerman came out of retirement at 46 years of age and hurled a perfect game against Ft.Wayne (IN) in the 1963 tournament at Rock Island (IL). In one world tournament game in 1955 Zimmerman struck out 30 batters in 14 innings. Stan White played 17 years for the Long Beach Nitehawks and was chosen as an All-American catcher 11 times (a record). White held the former record for most putouts by a catcher (110) in the 1960 tournament.

Copyright © 2002-2015 ISC
For more information please read our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use
Designed and Hosted by Net Reliant
Powered by ReliantCMS